What Cecily Carver told me when I was learning how to code

Our tutors at the Flatiron School asked us to read one of Cecily Carver’s article and ponder about its message.

It is a great article. The bulk of touches on the message that it is with practice that you master coding and that there will always be someone who thinks you are an amateur. I believe in these as well. I am aware of both the 10,000 hours rule and of the fact that haters will always be haters.

In this blog entry, I would like to write about the following point that she raised:

“Before you learn to code, think about what you want to code”

Ms. Carver here implies that motivation is a critical determinant about  a person’s desire to learn something. Before I immersed myself into programming, I listed all the different reasons why I wanted to do it. I consider myself a creative person who enjoys finding solutions to problems, both individually and within a team. As a previous artist (I used to be a dancer for approximately 4 years) I was working in a troupe where creativity, hard work, problem solving (think of coming up with different ways to interact with objects on stage) and team work were daily tasks.  I see a lot of parallels between dance and web development. As dancers work to connect a piece of choreography with another, developers work to connect different parts of the code together so the final product can work seamlessly. Dancing is an intense team work activity. Web development is no different where people come together to contribute to projects. I love web development because it is a knowledge that allows one to be creative and build powerful applications that can make a difference in people’s lives worldwide. And just for that it is worth learning it.  I want to learn to  because i want to create interactive and mind blowing applications. I am happiest when I am working with creative people on a creative project. And I believe coding will provide me that.

 

Leave a comment